What Makes You Happy

24 Jun

As many of you know, I am a law student and have worked as a paralegal in our law firm for the past 5 years. However, I’ve always had the passion for the arts and I found that the easiest way to express one’s artistic side is through the clothes we wear everyday. This is one of the reasons why I developed a deep love for fashion.

I’ve attempted twice to venture in a small fashion business but both businesses eventually failed. hahaha. After some time, I’ve gotten to a point where I lost hope and considered my fashion dreams dead. Upon looking at my resume which cohesively boasts about my background in law, I told myself there is no way I am gonna make a career out of fashion now.

BUT, such mindset is simply wrong and unhealthy. Killing our fantastic dreams because they look far-fetched from our current standpoint is short of saying we’ve given up on our faith in a magical, colorful and unpredictable life. I am not ready to do that just yet. Amidst all the hurdles, frustrations and failures I’ve suffered, I still believe that one day life will knock on my door and hand me a sweet surprise.

2014-03-30 09.57.23left and right hemisphere of my brain. This is how I usually spend a day during a school semester: a Codal to read as required, and art materials to play with for when I get bored with my home works. 

One of my many hobbies is to to design clothes. I know how to draw albeit i’m not a pro but my skills are decent enough (I think) to produce works that I can be proud of.  I’ve started this hobby when I was in high school and I’ve never stopped designing since then. I used to own like a portfolio but when I started law school, I had less and less time for this leisure.

2014-03-30 10.34.25

Now, I’m almost done with school. I have 5 units remaining and I’m trying to impose a bit of direction in my life as I prepare for my exit from Malcolm Hall (hopefully soooooon!). As I try to re-figure and restructure my life on my own terms, I am quite sure that my interest in fashion is not going anywhere. I will not let it. not this time. I intend to revisit my passion for creating and to re-celebrate every little detail in my life that used to bring me joy.

So yes. I resolve to draw more. paint more. write more. dance more. be better at styling, dressing up, applying make-up. eat more. cook more. play more. And of course, I’ll advocate more for self-empowerment

Recently Updated16

I’ll do all these things again and again and again. And I know that it will only get better, I will only get better. And I will not falter even though every pursuit seems difficult, out of line, and unrelated and even though it doesn’t make sense to others.

After all, there is really no criteria for happiness. 🙂

pic source: taolifestudio.com

3 Responses to “What Makes You Happy”

  1. madisonrosemeier June 24, 2015 at 7:21 pm #

    Your blog is such an inspiration! Can’t wait to read more!

  2. Dani June 27, 2015 at 9:42 am #

    What you love isn’t necessarily what you need to be doing for a living. As long as you keep putting your heart into it and improving your craft, you’ll see your passionate efforts bear fruit. 🙂

    Napadaan lang to drop some sunshine!
    x Dani

Leave a Reply

