Flamboyant Africa

29 Jun

I’m in love with the African fashion. I like the prints, and the patterns, and the bold and bright colors of their dresses. I love the statement their headwraps/ turbans make. I love their chunky beads and bangles that somehow, someway,  work well with all the busy-ness going on. It goes all out! And it doesn’t restrain itself. This kind of style doesn’t believe in “less is more”. If you talk african fashion, more IS more and more is worth flaunting. I personally think this style gives off a very creative yet powerful vibe.

I’m sharing some of my fashion sketches that are very much inspired by the elements I mentioned above. Hope y’all like them. 🙂

pics16There was a time when I got addicted to head wraps. I own several scarves of different colors, prints, and designs and I started being creative with them and used them as DIY turbans during the time that my hair was (awkwardly) growing out from its bald state.  During that time, i would easily get bored not being able to style my hair different ways and headwraps were my solution to that boredom.

10451067_1494287330806723_6352934585079492135_n

My personal style is heavily influenced by the African culture. Sometimes, I feel like i’ve embraced it too much.

It’s kind of funny that I’m always mistaken for a foreigner here in the Philippines. Usually, it’s the cab drivers that make such observation, especially when I hail them to go to Greenbelt. They would think I am either an African-American, or a mixed African-Asian. And I’m always amused by this. haha 🙂

10259129_1494287440806712_6742290437099016842_o

I will not go as far as the (in)famous Rachel Dolezal has gone by saying I “identify” as black, but I do like the unique fashion of Africa very much. hihi. ^_^ That’s why many of my fashion sketches/illustrations are inspired by it. I just find it very daring, very unforgiving, very flamboyant. Very symbolic of my personality.  😉

10432975_1494287627473360_4088440295676902707_n

So that’s it for today! Hope you had fun with this post! I’ll be posting more of my work on this blog soon. Indulge me! LOL

Meanwhile, I shall go to bed because I’m really exhausted. 🙂

Desktop

Like this post? Feel free to share it and let’s spread some colors to those who need it! 🙂

6 Responses to “Flamboyant Africa”

  1. poorvi14 June 29, 2015 at 2:59 pm #

    great post 🙂 nice illustrations ..

  2. Lily Lau June 29, 2015 at 4:05 pm #

    The second illustration has really haunted me… 🙂

  3. cacum2 July 2, 2015 at 4:20 am #

    Nice illustrations!

Leave a Reply

