Denim and Beyonce

25 Jul

Good morning! 🙂

Sharing with you a casual outfit today: the timeless denim-on-denim look.  I wore this last week for a fun out-of-town weekend with my friends.

Recently Updated38Decided to let my afro hair down and free in an attempt to give my casual attire a bit more umph. lol 

Can I just say that every time i wear my big curly hair, random strangers suddenly act weirdly nice and friendly to me,. I dunno, maybe it’s because my hair intrigues Filipinos in general. I mean, it’s not everyday that they see a woman shamelessly walk around Metro Manila with a big afro.  So, I guess they would have to spark up small conversations with me just to satisfy their curiosity.
denim3

I’m always mistaken for an African American woman. Or mixed Asian African.It amuses me every single time. lol Some well meaning people would try to be very careful with their words. They’d usually hesitate to ask me if I am indeed of african blood because here in the Philippines, people are obsessed with being white and our history has made us develop this colonial mentality whereby we (as a people) think Caucasians have a certain degree of superiority. So they’d  assume that I would feel bad if i’m mistaken for being of an African descent. LOL not the case at all. On the contrary, I always enjoy it. Sometimes, I even pretend I’m Queen Bey. lol. 🙂

denim2

When I know they want to  confirm if i’m black, but they hesitate so as not to “offend” me, I just usually finish the sentence for them and say I’m pure Filipino but it amuses me when I’m taken for an African girl. 🙂

Anyways, I found out that this is true not only in the Philippines. Peter (who is a handsome Black British friend of mine) told me yesterday his friends who saw me on facebook would often ask him if i’m mixed. Wait, how did they describe me? Oh, he said they said my features resemble those of a  black girl from Dominican Republic. I googled “dominican republic women” and got so flattered coz they are a bunch of very beautiful women! ❤

Oh well, I don’t really have any prejudice against any race. And if you want an entertaining trivia about me, i tend to get attracted to very composed, ambitious black men 🙂 aaaaah. I can’t even explain why.  or maybe i can but i just wanna keep it to myself.  Let’s not expose too much about my private life hahaha.

Downloads1So that’s about it! I hope you enjoyed this post.  And I hope everyone’s having a wonderful Saturday! 🙂

6 Responses to “Denim and Beyonce”

  1. strawberry293 July 27, 2015 at 12:41 am #

    Your hair is lovely and you are very pretty. I actually thought you were mixed race when I came across your post. I have 2 friends from the Philippines and I love your culture😊. Xx

    • shalloweuphoria July 29, 2015 at 10:35 am #

      awww thank you very much 🙂 and yes, i get that impression a lot 🙂 lovin your blog btw! 🙂

      • strawberry293 July 29, 2015 at 11:06 am #

        Awww thank you very much. I love yours too 🙂 I’m looking forward to seeing your future posts 🙂 xx

  2. Peter July 28, 2015 at 7:10 am #

    I feel so proud: A direct quote from me has made it onto your blog!

    Keep up the fantastic writing

    • shalloweuphoria July 29, 2015 at 10:33 am #

      thanks handsome! 🙂 im glad u didnt mind that I dropped ur name hehe 🙂

  3. strawberry293 July 28, 2015 at 9:59 pm #

    I’ve just seen that my previous message didn’t :(. But I said that I love your hair and you are very pretty. I have philly friends and I love your culture xx

Leave a Reply

