First Impressions

5 Sep

I am aware that as far as first impression goes, I am not quite a people-pleaser. I’ve been told a couple of times that I give off a strong aura that just by the way I look, people assume I’m a snob. It also doesn’t help that I am not a simple-dresser, and that I have this so-called “resting bitch face”, and I have a big hair. lol. So, it doesn’t surprise me anymore if I hear or feel that some people don’t like me even though they don’t know me at all. While I am used to suspending my judgment of other people, I cannot, of course, expect other people to do it to/for me too.

I’ve wondered one or two times in the past if there was something I could do to lessen the people’s oftentimes wrong first impression of me. Perhaps if I wore only t-shirts and jeans I’d be more approachable. Perhaps if I tried modulating my loud voice I’d look less intimidating… and so on.. and so forth… However,  I realized soon enough that I didn’t need to do all these things because I often prove these people wrong anyway. Once they give me a chance to introduce myself to them, it is very seldom that we don’t get along. As to who and how many are willing to give me this chance, well that is something I don’t have control over anymore. But that’s okay. I just take it as the universe’s way of filtering for me the good people worth loving and keeping in my life.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I resolve to continue wearing neck scarfs even in the most inappropriate of times, when I want to wear them. And I will continue buying clothes as bright as this red dress and match em up with skyscraper heels if I think they look good together. And I will just have to live with my naturally strong aura and my bitch face and my big hair and all that jazz. All these I will keep on doing even though some people take it as something snobbish. After all, I know myself and I know that I am not what they think I am. And I find overwhelming comfort in the fact that my few but great friends know that. 🙂

I am, for the most part, happy with how I present myself before everyone else. That some cannot live with that is something that cannot be helped, and so I should just let them be. We cannot please everybody. I can promise though that I am trying my very best to be a good/kind person and I am consciously watching my actions – not my aura – to make sure that I promote peace and harmony and that I inspire others in my own little ways. 🙂

black platforms from Parisian, straw hat bought by Mom from Ilocos province

I believe that life is too short to be boring and safe and restrained. If it’s just physical appearance we’re talking about, I say embrace your inner crazy! While some give too much importance on first impressions, I believe that in the grand scheme of things, first impressions are just presumptions that we can always refute.

If you have friends like mine – who are more curious than they are judgmental, I think being someone like me (read: looking snub, intimidating and unapproachable) will not be so much of a bummer. I thank the heavens for surrounding me with family, relatives, friends and colleagues who couldn’t care less about how I look and dress up. These people around me are so intelligent and goodhearted they know which attributes of a person are important. 🙂

Leave a Reply

