Chase the Sun

5 Apr

Summer is upon us. Heat outside has started being unbearable but I have nothing but glee as I welcome this imperfect, but nonetheless beautiful season! 🙂

I am excited to share my scheduled summer trips with family and friends. I am also preparing to revive my abs for when I start wearing bikinis to beaches. LOL. But for now, allow me to share a throwback set of photos from last year, when we went to Isabela for vacation. This will be quick, promise! ^_^

11059203_1634469513455170_1971943208622456160_n“Summer is a period of luxurious growth. To be in harmony with the atmosphere of summer, awaken early in the morning and reach to the sun for nourishment to flourish as the gardens do. Work, play, travel, be joyful, and grow into selfless service. The bounty of the outside world enters and enlivens us.” ― Paul Pitchford

10404124_1634469703455151_7997321608036992720_n

Isabela has always been so dear to me. I’ve done lots of photo shoots at this particular place – the Cagayan River – and each time reminds me of good times and carefree days, and glorious natural tans! haha. This year, I will be going to La Union with my cousins and hopefully get to cross out another bucket list item of mine: try surfing! I have another nature-oriented trip in June, this time with friends from high school, and I think it’s a perfect way to bid the summer farewell. Then we will have to face the rains… lots of it. Even though rainy days aren’t my cup of tea, I know I’m gonna find a way to turn a gloomy season into a romantic, mellow-dramatic, and beautifully melancholic chapter of my year.  But until then, I vow to make the most out of what this proud and cheerful sun has to offer! 🙂

11102653_1634470590121729_5703037034730147962_n
I’m gonna share something funny. These pics were actually taken around this time/month last year, and I was talking to a guy from Europe then. During that time I was so smitten, like really head-over-heals into him… but after summer, things fell apart and I was devastated (per usual). With the timing so odd, he recently reappeared in my life after a long time of silence on both sides. It is super weird and I just had to ask the universe why this is happening now. lol.

And then I realized that he and his reappearance has nothing to do with my finding love again, or with my having to experience another pain. Rather, it is heaven’s way of reminding me that life indeed moves on.. and I am capable of moving on… and things end and then they hurt us so badly but we eventually get over it and everything becomes okay again. Then it won’t matter anymore even if it finds its way back to us, in whatever form or medium.10360605_1634470636788391_7249398924174580003_nI find comfort in the realization that I have zero hang-ups or leftover feelings for him now. I know it’s just not the same anymore. I can sense that he is testing the waters and assessing if I’m still interested in him. He has made jokes about me being the mother of his children and all that jazz, and hinted with some obscurity that he might come and visit me. These are things that used to make me a little crazy-happy before, but now it has no effect whatsoever on me. Truth be told, there are times when in the middle of our conversation, my mind would wander off to fantasy land  where thoughts of me marrying an elusive spy seems so easily doable. LOL.

And so, life has just reaffirmed to me that in the grand scheme of things, heartaches are just minute stings that eventually heal, and life is just a cycle, and we all overcome feelings  in the end. 🙂11073247_1634469440121844_1388527505031888596_nSo I shall continue to spend my summer days alone.. and happily so. I’m going to pour my energy discovering new hobbies, furthering my skills, and exploring new places that are good for the soul. I will enjoy my time with family and friends – the people who never leave us and the people who are just there when we need them no matter how long we’ve lost contact and no matter how much geography separates us. 🙂 Sounds like a plan, right? ^_^

I hope you all had a great day! 🙂 Happy summer! 😀

Leave a Reply

