In Harmony

6 Jun

I’ve been reading this book by Dr. Wayne Dyer  called “Change Your Thoughts, Change Your Life” . It discusses the principles of Taoism by translating the Tao-Te-Ching into the modern day context. It has so far enlightened me on how to live life in harmony with our nature, our source of creation, our inner God.

P_20160326_090752_BF

P_20160324_101954

I learned that the Tao’s main antithesis is ego.  Every unhealthy thing that we are doing is because of ego – our tendency to obsess over something and to strive to the point of exhaustion, our love for worldly possessions, our desire for favors, status, accomplishments and titles, and our inclination to pass judgment on other people are all UNNATURAL and are driven by ego. This book teaches its readers how to live free from pride and vanity — and it goes way deeper than our common understanding of these terms.

blog26Ego, as defined by this book, is not only about our desire to be better than  other people or to project an image before them. It actually is more dangerous when what starts taking over us is the ego that we have against ourselves. For example, we chase people that we like even though it is clear that they don’t like us because our ego wants us to prove something to ourselves – that we are capable of achieving something unobtainable, or that being rejected means we are not good enough.

P_20160326_090931_BFWhen I read about this, i began double-checking my actions. Now, I am trying my best to distinguish if the pain or sadness I am feeling is really from the heart or if it is actually just pride. If it’s the latter, I dismiss the feeling. I tell myself “Let it go, Janica. It’s just your ego talking.”

blog25

The book explains that we are already perfect as we are, without doing anything more, because we are created in the image of God (yes the author seems to be a believer of  Christ and it is amazing how he reconciles the Tao-Te-Ching and the Bible). If we start believing that we already are enough, and we already have enough, then it is so much easier to “let go and let God”. The only thing we need to do in this world is to trust our inner calling and do the things that we love just because — without seeking validation from external forces, without obsessing over outcomes, and without trying too hard.  We just need to just be… and all the blessings will naturally follow. 

blog33Parisian shoes, Unica Hija bag

P_20160326_090832_BFdress from a Thrift Shop

blog24“Simply Allow” – we only need to allow things to happen to our lives. We only need to welcome the possibilities. We do not need to try so hard all the time to make something work. SIMPLY ALLOW.

Oh how I relate to this part of the book so much. I swear every sentence that I read resonates to my inner core. I have been a witness of both: I have tried the unnatural way of forcing things to transpire (mostly love life related) and I always end up hurting myself. I have also tried the way of the Tao where I just continuously do something because I love doing it (without any expectation of reward), then I stop when the work is done – i let go, so to speak, and just trust that I am in a good place (mostly career related), and I swear to God everything has worked out so well for me! Blessings overflow in this department!

blog34.jpg

“Stop pushing yourself, and feel gratitude and awe for what is“. Of course this is not to say that we all should be lazy. That is not the way of the Tao. What it is saying is that once the work is done then it is time to stop, relax and do nothing further. Effort and non-effort are both crucial in living harmoniously with our nature. It is one of the many paradoxes of life.

P_20160326_091058_BFI am not done reading the entire book yet but I’ve gotten so many insights and tips on how to live life well.I don’t know how it hooked me but it did. Of course it is not that easy to apply all the Taoist teachings to my life right away. But I would like to try to minimize my “unnatural” habits.

Good evening! 🙂

pictures taken by my mom in her garden 🙂

Leave a Reply

