7 Things

30 Oct

I turned 27 last October 26. I’m another year older now, and definitely wiser and better than ever! ๐Ÿ™‚ The 26 year old me has experienced a lot of new things, has endured a good heartache and yet has managed to still appreciate life all at the same time. Turning 27 marks the end of a super colorful period and the start of a more wonderful and bright one! And I can say that I’m happy of what I’ve become at this point in time.

So, before I blog about the food that I ate and the restos and places i went to during my birthday week, I think it would be really worthwhile to first talk about 7 small victories I’ve achieved in the past year. Sort of a progress check for me so that if I catch myself in the future feeling a little unsure of myself, I have something to look back to and smile about. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. I’ve acquired an interest in reading.

    I’ve never really liked reading. Back when I was still in school I only touched novels because they were required to be read and even then, I barely finished any up to the last page. Often times, I’d resort to the ever helpful internet for synopses/summaries to get by. Even in law school, i hated reading cases and books. Case digests and reviewers did the job for me mostly.

    But I met Tin (office mate and friend in PCW) who sorta influenced me to grab a book by tagging me along at Book Sale (a bookstore that sells second hand books for cheap) every time we go to a mall. She would also bring to the office her books which she thought I’d relate to and would encourage me to read them. I’ve read her “The Alchemist” and her “Boy Meets Girl” and the rest is history, as they say.

    ย “Everyone is a reader, some just haven’t found their favorite book yet!”, and I can attest that this quote is so true. I’ve recently discovered that I am soย  into conspiracy theories, covert ops and adventure novels (i.e. anything that involves controversial spy and intel agencies of the USA and of other countries,ย  detective stories and scientific discoveries). I was hooked by a Dan Brown book entitled Deception Point and now I couldn’t go out of the house without a novel of the same sort in my bag although I am currently reading Sex and the City now; While this is far from being a spy book, it is nonetheless action-filled hence the fascination haha. (and I loved the 2 Sex and the City films too!).

    So in just a few months, I’ve read a total of six novels which is QUITE A LOT for a girl who used to hate reading!ย  ๐Ÿ™‚ And I’m really thankful to Tin for introducing me to this new hobby. I have been learning a lot and enjoying a lot without needing to move from where I am. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I can smile now (with teeth showing, that is)

    14650503_1855572504678202_3785686293409661077_n Many people have noticed that I never smile in my pictures. I’ve never learned how to because my two front teeth were discolored due to an accident in the past.But I finally had them fixed last month (after a loooong, looooong time! Kung hindiย  pa nagka-infection hindi pa ako kikilos! kaloka). And thanks to my dentist, I am now learning how to smile with my teeth showing. It still feels awkward for me but I’mย  trying to get used to it. I’m deliberately taking pictures of me recently with my teeth showing so I could get past the “smile showing hesitation” stage. haha. ๐Ÿ™‚ And a loooot of my friends noticed this change! Someone even told me I have a beautiful smile and I should do it more often. ^_^

    3.ย  I don’t mind taking pictures without make-up on anymore.

    It’s been a long time coming… but I’m finally here. I don’t think I need a lot of words to explain this achievement. Just backtrack on this blog and you will understand the journey to being comfortable with my own skin. Been making progress little by little the past years but this time, I’ve reached the peak. ๐Ÿ™‚ Just to give you a quick point A to point B comparison,ย  three years ago I did not join our class picture in law school despite the prodding of my classmates merely because I didn’t have make up on. Three years after, I initiate picture taking regardless of what I have on my face. ๐Ÿ™‚

4. I’ve graduated from law school…

P_20160627_150431

5. And now ready to study for the bar exam.

I had so many things going on in my life the past few months that I forgot to blog about my graduation day, but yes I did graduate from law school last June, 2016! Why is this part of the list of my tiny victories? Because i’ve always had a hate-hate relationship with it but I finally surpassed 6 years of agony. And I’ve wanted to delay my taking of the bar exams because aside from being unprepared, I wanted to enjoy my long-coveted freedom. But now, I am finally ready to face the tough challenge of studying for the bar. And what I like about this turn of events is that this time, I am deciding for myself, without pressure from parents, friends, or whatnot. So I know that I will be taking my reviewย  very seriously.. because it is a goal I am setting for myself. ๐Ÿ™‚

P_20160627_141455

6. I’m managing without a house help.It’s been around 6 months now since we had a house help… but I am still alive… and now doing laundry, ironing clothes, feeding myself, cleaning my room – things i grew up not doing. I will not say I am good at chores now but at least I discovered I can get by without someone else doing these things for me. It’s very hard most of the time and I am honestly going to be very happy if I could employ a new house help soon, but I am grateful for the 6ย  months of total independence. ๐Ÿ™‚

7. I’ve improved in my singing! hahaha! This I dare say to all of you! I can now reach the notes of Whitney Houston’s One Moment in Time and Celine Dion’s It’s All Coming Back To Me Now. You know, it pays to be singing the karaoke alone all the time! hahaha. And I’m gonna give you a tip now that i’m a singing pro: if the hobby gears you towards any form of self-improvement, then just go for it and try!

HAHAHA OKAY THE SINGING PRO PART IS CLEARLY A JOKE. But the improving at singing part is attested by a few friends who had spent some time with me in the karaoke recently. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But of course, this is only in comparison with my old self. I don’t think I stand a chance with other people. hahaha. :DOKAY, that’s all for today! ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a nice Sunday everyone! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

