All the Best People Are

21 Dec

 

“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?’
‘That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,’ said the Cat.
‘I don’t much care where -‘ said Alice.
‘Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,’ said the Cat.
‘- so long as I get SOMEWHERE,’ Alice added as an explanation.
‘Oh, you’re sure to do that,’ said the Cat, ‘if you only walk long enough.”

p_20160709_124952I’ve always loved the story of Alice in Wonderland. There’s something about Alice and her journey that beckon me. I think it is because I see a whole lot of me in her – she is crazy, clumsy in life, she journeys to the unknown on her own, she doesn’t seem to bow down to anyone – not even the notorious queen, and she is able to connect with the weirdest creatures there are, without ever questioning if they are indeed real. She has her own little world and she drifts off to that despite the disapproving frowns and questions of the people in her reality. Her imagination is so strong it brings Wonderland into life. What a stubborn 7 year old child. 🙂

p_20160709_125008Right now, I recognize more than ever that I am in this journey to my own wonderland but this time I am in it with more fearlessness, with more appreciation for the trip more than the destination, and with more conscious enjoyment of everything that comes along my way, including  especially of the most unlikely, strange and surprising encounters.

And I love it. I love where I am right now. I may not be the girl that goes on literal adventures, but inside me I am threading on a massive unexplored territory. Ah, adventures of the soul can be just as enriching and fun, you see. And I’m grateful.

geneva1top from H&M, pants from a thrift shop, belt from SM

p_20160709_123944_bf“But I don’t want to go among mad people,” Alice remarked.
“Oh, you can’t help that,” said the Cat: “we’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad.”
“How do you know I’m mad?” said Alice.
“You must be,” said the Cat, “or you wouldn’t have come here.”

Looking back, I see a girl so naive and so full of childish dreams and who believes relentlessly in magic. And I see a girl whose stubborn heart gets bruised all the time, yet refuses to quit learning and yearning and hoping to receive what she truly wants. Why, I was quite bonkers then.  Well, I still am! with one particular change – I am fully aware that I am this one hella’ crazy lady and I am enjoying being one and definitely not ashamed or apologetic about it anymore.  And I resolve to continue on with this journey, and to take more and more unfamiliar paths — knowing in my heart that whichever way I go, I will end up at the same final destination.

p_20160709_124959Kate Spade bag

“Alice laughed: ‘There’s no use trying,’ she said; ‘one can’t believe impossible things.’ ‘I daresay you haven’t had much practice,’ said the Queen. ‘When I was younger, I always did it for half an hour a day. Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”

Ultimately, it doesn’t matter how neurotic other people perceive us to be. There is no harm in keeping on believing all the impossible things that inspire us. All the adventures are happening within us, inside us, through our very souls and so it is only us, and not the outside spectators who can really attest to the wonderfulness of our personal experiences. Too much obsession with the destination is a doing of the outside world. It invented the word “impossible” and any one who tries to reject the word and defy the limits are called “crazy”. I’ve been called that so many times, with different versions  of the term to boot… but so what? I am actually loving branding myself as bonkers…because as Madhatter told Alice – “all the best people are”.

p_20160709_124215Melissa shoes gifted by my aunt Blessie

p_20160709_124734“I wonder if I’ve been changed in the night. Let me think. Was I the same when I got up this morning? I almost think I can remember feeling a little different. But if I’m not the same, the next question is ‘Who in the world am I?’ Ah, that’s the great puzzle!”

In the end, does it even matter who or what we end up being really? Is there not an assurance that if we travel consciously with only beautiful thoughts and intentions and with constant gratitude being the only baggage we carry into the night, then we surely are to arrive to somewhere fantastic the next day? It doesn’t matter where we find ourselves, or how absurdly wild to others we’ve become. It will always be lovely there if we choose to see it as such. 🙂 The only thing we can be certain of is that we will always be a different person tomorrow, hopefully, for the better and hopefully, as a new version of ourselves that we love even more.

p_20160709_124728“Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.”

I’m 27 now, but I still love the 7 year old Alice in me.  I just have this extreme fascination with the beautiful madness of her world — Ever growing. Ever wondering. Ever learning. Never sane.

Leave a Reply

